Girl Online Book Review

Girl OnlineWordsBlurb

About Girl Online

Penny has a secret.

Under the alias Girl Online, Penny blogs her hidden feelings about friendship, boys, high school drama, her crazy family, and the panic attacks that have begun to take over her life. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets Noah, a gorgeous, guitar-strumming American. Suddenly Penny is falling in love – and capturing every moment of it on her blog.

But Noah has a secret, too, one that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover – and her closest friendship – forever.

Thoughts

I love Girl Online. I love Penny. I hate Megan. I loooove Noah. I also love Zoella, but I was fully prepared to not like this book. In fact I planned to borrow it off one of my many friends who were bound to receive it for Christmas, instead of buying a copy myself. But then, low and behold, I was gifted the novel; I was obliged to read it. But boy were my predictions wrong.

Yeah, it was everything I expected it to be: all teenagery, cheesy, lovey-dovey… in the end that suited me fine! Because I am young, the whole book was written in my “language” and the slight twists of the perfectly predictable story line meant that tears were shed and laughter was heard as Penny took me on an emotional roller-coaster, which thankfully ended on a high. Yes, the whole story is rather cliche and cheesy, but look at the upbeat, positive Zoella; how could it not be? I mean this in the best possible way… I would not change the book for anything in the world- I live for happy endings.

Rating 10/10- for teenagers only (for full context, read Should YOU read Girl Online)

Favourite Character

My favourite character would have to be Noah. I feel like it should be someone a bit more original, (as I’m sure millions of other Noah-obsessed girls would say the exact same thing) but in whole-hearted truthfulness, Noah is the one. Unfortunately he is Penny’s. And, oh, he is fictional. So handsome, romantic, talented AND good with children; he is the man of every girl’s dream. And, again, fictional. Damn.

Memorable Moment

Out of the whole book, which is jam-packed full of memorable moments, the one which is probably the most pleasing and empowering is when Penny and Elliot douse Megan and Olly with their Choccywoccydoodah milkshakes. Karma is incredible.

Favourite Line

“I missed you, Inciting Incident.” – Noah Flynn

Should YOU read Girl Online?

I would a hundred percent recommend this to young people (from 12) who love love. I say young people in specific, because while enjoyed this book very much, I am apart of the younger generation and just as I expected, my mother did not make it very far through Girl Online. The style of writing is perfectly suited for teenagers to read and relate to and the story itself is also something which teens dream about.

Final Thoughts

I am excited to hear more about Noah (and Penny) in the next novel that Sugg has been hinting about. Although, I cannot imagine what it would actually be about. I’m sure Zoe and Penguin will come up with something, but let’s just hope it is up to par with this novel; like Bridget Jones’s Diary, some great things cannot continue and stay amazing at the same time.

Girl Online as a movie? I don’t know if that would work; some books are meant to just be books. But you never know, it could give me a pleasant surprise just like the Girl Online did! Up for the challenge Zoe?

But for now, I just want to say Zoe Sugg, you amazing person you, thank you for creating this book which I am bound to read over and over and over and over again…

This girl online, going offline.

All is Dreamy (like Noah)

5 thoughts on “Girl Online Book Review

    1. Yes! I heard about that and chose to leave it out of my blog post for no particular reason 🙂 To be perfectly honest, I do not really mind. Of course it would be incredible if Zoe did write it 100% on her own, but that is not what she chose to do. Although she did give them credit in the acknowledgements, which was very grown up of her in my opinion.
      But in the end it was Zoe’s decision. If she didn’t think that using ghostwriters was okay, then she wouldn’t have done it. But it appears that she did and I think that everyone just needs to accept that; in the end I enjoyed the book, ghostwriter or no ghostwriter, and that’s all that matters, isn’t it?

      Like

Have your Say!

